Home News From The 'Verse The Pull List: ONI PRESS Releases (Wednesday 20th April 2016)

pull list - advertising placeholder

logo - oni pressONI PRESS Releases: Wednesday 20th April 2016

Each week, we take a look at the forthcoming ONI PRESS titles available in stores, and on digital, giving you a comprehensive guide to your weekly comics pull list.

Well, well – it’s an Eisner Award special. After one of the strongest weeks releases (and everyone is still talking about issue #1 of HEARTTHROB, it was such an incredible debut), you’d think that anything to follow this NCBD would be a tough call. As it happens, this week has been great for ONI with a brace of Eisner Award nominations, including for Zander Cannon (KAIJUMAX, Best New Series) and Ben Towle (OYSTER WAR, Best Publication for Teens, Ages 13-17). They can also claim pride that one of their Oni family is up for a gong, too, with John Allison‘s GIANT DAYS up for Best Continuing Series and Best Writer. Hey, take it where you can get it, right?

  • Speaking of award-nominated works, the epic SIXTH GUN series approaches its final stretch with this  #48th issue kicking off the ‘Boot Hill’ finale run. This is dense and rich stuff – which, let’s be fair, you’d expect nothing less from Cullen Bunn – and you can tell that he’s ramping up for something big and bold. Along for the ride is original series artist Brian Hurtt and it’s not looking like he’s getting jaded, the big moments are boldly presented under a murky and muted palette from Bill Crabtree. You can ignore the press blurb below: if you haven’t been following the story, you’re buggered, there’s no way to just jump in at this point. But that just gives you an excuse to head back and catch up. Trust me: this is a good thing…
  • …and here we go with the other Eisner guy – John Allison‘s young reader mystery romp, BAD MACHINERY, getting its fifth collected trade, THE CASE OF THE FIRE INSIDE. Think Scooby-Doo via Daniel Clowes with a healthy dollop of sharp British sarcasm – it really is so much fun and shows off Allison at the top of his powers. Don’t tell anyone but I prefer this book to GIANT DAYS. (Honestly, it’s that kind of thing that’ll make people go off me, isn’t it?)

These are amazing books from ONI Press but then, would you expect anything less?

ARE YOU A COMICS RETAILER? Would you like to support AEISD’s Pull Lists by having your banner advert at the top of ALL of our preview posts every week? Contact us to find out how you can tell everyone about YOUR special comic book shop…


MONTHLY ISSUES

Click on the thumbnails for high quality preview images:


image - Oni Press (The Sixth Gun #48, cover Brian Hurtt)THE SIXTH GUN #48

Writer: Cullen Bunn

Artists: Brian Hurtt (art) and Bill Crabtree (colours)

Cover Art: Brian Hurtt

“The Six have been used to break the seals that hold back armageddon. A final confrontation awaits Drake Sinclair, Becky Montcrief on the legendary battleground of Boot Hill. The end is nigh, and the epic conclusion to THE SIXTH GUN starts here!

Release Date: 20th April 2015 / Full Colour / Western, Fantasy / 13+

Why it’s neat:

  • It’s the beginning of the end—”Boot Hill”, the final arc of the critically-acclaimed Harvey, Ignatz, and Eisner Award-nominated supernatural western saga.
  • It’s never too late to jump onto a series; The Sixth Gun is perfect for fans of Lord of the Rings, Hellboy, and the works of H.P. Lovecraft.
  • Artist Bill Crabtree and colorist Brian Hurtt create artistic masterpieces on each and every page, creating entirely new worlds with Cullen Bunn’s mythos.
  • Fans of Firefly and True Grit will love the fierce Becky Montcrief, who literally takes fate in her own hands and pulls the trigger in the explosive end.

What the creators have to say:

  • Writer Cullen Bunn says,“It might be easy to assume that Becky is a damsel in distress. In fact, we kind of wanted readers to see her in that light at first. But we really always saw Becky as the star of the series. We wanted to show her growth from humble beginnings. In the first arc, she’s being rescued by Drake, but later in the series, she’s the one who is doing the rescues!”
  • Artist Brian Hurtt says, “I feel like The Sixth Gun is my best work to date, not because I’m a better artist, but because I have a real love for the material.”

What people are saying:

  • The Sixth Gun is so fun it feels like it was discovered, not created.” Kelly Sue DeConnick (Bitch Planet, Pretty Deadly)
  • “You only wish your favourite weird TV show was this much fun.” Warren Ellis (Transmetropolitan, Injection)
  • “An absolute winner in every way.” Jason Aaron (Southern Bastards, Star Wars)
  • The Sixth Gun is totally unique, beautiful to look at and an all-around terrific read.” Rick Remender (Deadly Class, Low)
  • “As a reader, I love it. As a creator, I give my highest compliment: it makes me bitterly jealous. Long may it make me seethe.” Kieron Gillen (The Wicked + The Divine, Star Wars: Darth Vader)
  • OH ****! This is a western, a supernatural western with a MAGICAL GIRL! Like, why the **** hasn’t anyone told me THIS about the book?!” The Outhouse’s “View from the Gutters” podcast
  • 9.5 OUT OF 10 REVIEW: “The Sixth Gun—and all of its branching stories—has been one of the most intriguing comic series released in the past few years. The Old West style combined with supernatural elements and pure weirdness has differentiated The Sixth Gun from other comic series and become the best example of this newer genre. ” We the Nerdy
  • 9 OUT OF 10 REVIEW: “This story is big, bold, brash and explosive, with Bunn and Hurtt quite literally tearing a world apart and preparing for God knows what to unleash itself.” Comicosity
  • 4.5 OUT OF 5 REVIEW: “[…] this supernatural thriller is expertly produced in every form.” Forces of Geek
  • 4 OUT OF 5 REVIEW: “It is one of the best fantasy stories that is being published today.” Comic Bastards

Click on the Gallery to check out Preview Pages of this issue:

TRADE COLLECTED EDITIONS

image - Oni Press (Bad Machinery Vol 5, cover John Allison)BAD MACHINERY VOL. 5: THE CASE OF THE FIRE INSIDE

Writer / Artist / Cover: John Allison

“The new year brings the all the joys and near-drownings of young love in The Case of the Fire Inside, the latest volume of Bad Machinery! 

Sonny meets a mysterious new girl who seems to have climbed out of the sea itself, while Mildred falls for the bad boy of Saturday detention. But can either of them succeed in the face of jealous exes, overprotective fathers, and the persistent tide of DESTINY?

What is a “selkie”? Is a Morton’s toe fatal? And can Dark Rotuss truly save the galaxy?

Release Date: 20th April 2015 / Full Colour / Comedy, Mystery / 10+

Why it’s neat:

  • Can’t get enough of Allison’s Giant DaysLumberjanes and Gotham Academy fans will love this middle grader alternative, chock-full of the same characteristic witty dialogue and banter.
  • It’s Scooby-Doo for the BBCoff-beat British humor runs rampant in this YA Hardy Boys meets Nancy Drew adolescent comedy.
  • Do you like ADORABLE SEALS? Then BOY HOWDY, are you in for a treat!

Accolades:

What creator John Allison is saying:

  • “When I try to explain what my books are about to strangers — say, the sort of strong, rough-handed man who visits your house to fix something — I feel a certain incongruity in telling them that I write stories mostly about teenage girls and women. But I’m proud that I do. I intend to write a lot more of them.”

What people are saying:

  • “When people ask me what my favourite comic is, I don’t even let them finish the sentence before I’m attempting to push some form ofBad Machinery into their life. […] For me, this comic will always be the one to beat, and I don’t see many contenders.” Harvey Award-winner Kate Beaton (Hark! A Vagrant, The Princess and the Pony)
  • “My favorite things in the world are friendship and mystery, and John Allison produces—apparently effortlessly—my absolute favorite versions of my favorite things. John’s art is impossibly charming and his writing is laugh-out-loud hilarious.” Eisner and Harvey Award-winner Ryan North (The Unbeatable Squirrel Girl, Adventure Time)
  • “John Allison is a master storyteller—Bad Machinery deftly balances fiendish mystery, plotting, shyly hilarious characters and a lived-in setting, You will love this!” Eisner and Harvey Award-winner Bryan Lee O’Malley, creator of Scott Pilgrim
  • “John Allison really can do it all—brilliant dialogue, mysterious plots, properly funny jokes… and art that just sings. A master of the comics form at his very best.” Eisner Award nominee Stephen Collins (The Gigantic Beard That Was Evil)
  • “In the conversation about young superheroes, John Allison should be right up in there with the very best writers and artists that comics has to offer. I think I’ve recommended every volume of Bad Machinery as part of ‘Best Comics Ever’ thus far, but there’s a dashed good reason—it’s a blinding good comic.” ComicsAlliance
  • “A good, humorous addition to school and public libraries’ graphic novel collections.” School Library Journal
  • “[…] teens and adults who like a bit of smart snark and sass, will appreciate Allison’s unique humor and offbeat story as well as the Kate Beaton–like (though full-color) art.” Booklist
  • “This small-press charmer, based on an ongoing webcomic, is a stylish jumble of pop-culture references, sly humor, eye-catching characters, mystery […].” Kirkus
  • “Allison is a triple threat: he plots deftly, draws confidently, and writes dead-on adolescent dialogue. […] Dark, fast-paced, and riotously funny entertainment.” Publishers Weekly, starred review

Click on the Gallery to check out Preview Pages of this issue:

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: