Home News From The 'Verse Comics ‘Saga’ & Sean Phillips: Winners at 2013 British Fantasy Awards

'Saga' and Sean Phillips, winners at British Fantasy Awards 2013 presented in Brighton

our cup o teaThe British Fantasy Awards were presented last night, at a prestigious event held in Brighton, with ‘Saga‘ by Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples winning the award for Best Comic/Graphic Novel and Sean Phillips taking home Best Artist.

Voted by the British Fantasy Society and FantasyCon 2012 and presented at a gala awards banquet for the World Fantasy Convention at the Hilton Brighton Metropole Hotel, these are yet most pieces of prized metalware to be taken home by these award-winning home-grown creatives.

Iain M. Banks, who passed away earlier this year (June 9, 2013), was honoured with a special posthumous presentation, the Karl Edward Wagner Award.

The winners in full, announced last night, were:

Best Fantasy Novel (the Robert Holdstock Award): Some Kind of Fairy Tale, Graham Joyce (Gollancz)

Best Horror Novel (the August Derleth Award): Last Days, Adam Nevill (Macmillan)

Best Novella: The Nine Deaths of Dr Valentine, John Llewellyn Probert (Spectral Press)

Best Magazine/Periodical: Interzone, Andy Cox (ed.) (TTA Press)

Sean Phillips artist

Best Artist: Sean Phillips

Best Short Story: Shark! Shark!, Ray Cluley (Black Static #29) (TTA Press)

Best Collection: Remember Why You Fear Me, Robert Shearman (ChiZine Publications)

Best Anthology: Magic: an Anthology of the Esoteric and Arcane, Jonathan Oliver (ed.) (Solaris)

'Saga; Fiona Staples art

Best Comic/Graphic Novel: Saga, Brian K. Vaughan and Fiona Staples (Image Comics)

Best Screenplay: The Cabin in the Woods, Joss Whedon and Drew Goddard

Best Newcomer (the Sydney J. Bounds Award): Helen Marshall, for Hair Side, Flesh Side (ChiZine Publica

Best Small Press (the PS Publishing Independent Press Award): ChiZine Publications (Brett Alexander Savory and Sandra Kasturi)

Best Non-Fiction: Pornokitsch, Anne C. Perry and Jared Shurin (eds)

Special Award (the Karl Edward Wagner Award): Iain Banks / Iain M. Banks

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: